“But didn’t God say – ?”

We all know that feeling of being totally, 100% convinced that that guy (who hardly seems to know you exist) is ‘the one’. Your personalities are the same, you love the same pets, AND – drumroll – God said so. Only problem is dear sweet Steve or Bob doesn’t seem to be on the same page. I know I had a few experience like that before I finally said ‘I do’.

What do you do when you’re sure you heard God say something, but in reality it’s just not happening? That has to be one of the toughest questions to wrestle through, and I’m sure the queue to have that one answered in heaven is gonna be pretty long. Didn’t you say I’d get that guy, that job, that place at uni, those 5 great kids? Did I really hear from you, God? I’ve been surprised at how often these questions have come up in conversations with women lately, and I’m beginning to think that maybe God is doing something here. For me, I have my fair share of questions about why exactly God has placed me where he has, and I’m sure you do too. Heart questions about your future, your dreams, or love life.

What I’ve realised is there comes a point where overanalysing 90% of the day and in 90% of conversations with God just leaves one feeling stressed and unhappy – either hopeless or desperately trying to make things work on your own. It’s great to have big dreams for the future and believe God for things he promised us, but not at the expense of losing your peace and joy in the present. I am a firm believer in making goals – but I’ve learned they’re often more realistic and successful when we start with maximizing what God has given us, rather than getting tangled in the why’s and didn’t you say’s of a wished for future.

I think that God sometimes tests our hearts by holding back things we want, so that we will place our happiness in him first. In times like these, God wants us to trust Him and hold the very promises he gave us in an open hand. Crazy right? Well, I’ll admit God does come across as crazy sometimes.

But here’s the thing: God is more about the health of our hearts than the desires of our hearts. That’s because he knows that most of us don’t dig down to that place till the things we really want feel out of reach. God wants us to trust him and start asking questions like Jesus, what will make my soul healthy? rather than but didn’t you say – ? And strangely enough, those things we absolutely need seem a lot less important when we hold them in an open hand, and quite often they fall in place on their own when we quit obsessing about them.

Pic credit: Questions by Oberazzi

10 thoughts on ““But didn’t God say – ?”

  1. This is such great wisdom – I especially like what you say about God being more concerned about the health of our hearts than the desires of our hearts … He makes everything perfect IN THE RIGHT TIME, and I think sometimes He delays the fulfillment of some desires because He’s working on our hearts.

  2. Joh!!!! There are serious pearls of wisdom here!

    “It’s great to have big dreams for the future and believe God for things he promised us, but not at the expense of losing your peace and joy in the present.”

    Please write a book 🙂

  3. Really good stuff here! I like specially -they’re often more realistic and successful ( goals) when we start with maximizing what God hasgiven us, rather than getting tangled in the why’s and didn’t you say’s of a wished
    for future…
    Powerful and true…we stuck a lot in what we don’t have rather than see all the blessings he is pouring out in our lifes.

  4. I am glad you wrote this article. I have had this conversation with so many of my girlfriends. I am emailing and sharing it like crazy! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

